Skip to main content

Main - User Permissions

In the main menu Server > Main settings > User permissions dialog, user credentials for different items (Jobs, Tasks, Triggers, Notifications, Time exceptions, Client and Server settings, User administration, Log, and other objects) are handled.

VisualCron uses an internal system for authentication and granting permissions to different objects within VisualCron. The internal system can be extended with users or groups from Active directory to provide a more seamless login.

A user is a set of user name and password. A user can belong to one or more groups. The actual permissions is located in the group. By default, there is a "Administrators" group which can do everything. You can create your own group in order to manage detailed user permissions for this group.

Active directory

By default the internal system is used. To enable Active Directory support you need to enter Users/Logon settings.

Server > Main settings > Settings > Users/Logon tab

When creating the Server Connection you also need to check "Use Active Directory logon". This way you tell the Client to use AD user login method.

File > Servers > Manage Servers > Add > AD

The main dialog of the_ User permissions_ window lists all users and AD groups that are allowed to connect to this server. A user can be active (green check icon) or inactive (red cross icon). When active, the user is granted login with the predefined permissions.

The Add, Edit, Clone or Delete buttons are context sensitive to the tab you are in. Clone makes a shallow copy, a new user with the same permissions as the original user/group. If you want to add an AD group you need to select that tab and then click Add.

Server > Main settings > User permissions

When you add, edit or clone a user you are presented with the Add/Edit user window.

Server > Main settings > User permissions > Users > Add > Credentials tab

Is AD user

You can select users from the active directory by clicking on the Search button next to the Name.

User permissions from AD Group

It is possible to inherit the permissions from the Groups tab of the AD group. This is enabled by default if user is created from a group. If unchecked, the Groups tab, from the Add user window will be used instead of the settings from the AD group.

Name

This is the name that will be seen in the Manage users list, logs and "created by"/"modified by" in the Job list.

Username

This is the user name which is used at login.

Password

This is the password which is used at login.

Email

In a future version of VisualCron, the email field will be used for an administrator to send a reminder of the login credentials.

Active

If the current user is active or not (login enabled).

Server > Main settings > User permissions > AD groups > Add tab

Group name

The AD group name. This can not be altered manually - you need to search and select the group.

Active

If the current group is active or not (login enabled).

Let users inherit (not clone) permissions

Whenever an AD user logs on that belongs to an existing group the AD user is created in the AD user section. By default, there is a reference to the VisualCron group permissions from the AD group in the new AD user. But you can also uncheck this to be able to set specific group permissions after (so that it not references).

A user can belong to one or more groups. The groups contains the actual permissions. If a specific permission is requested and granted in any of users groups the user is granted to the specific permission.

Server > Main settings > User permissions > Add > Groups tab

Server > Main settings > User permissions > Add > Groups > Edit tab

Name

Name of the group.

Default group for new users

If this group should be the default group when a new user is created.

Auto override object permission

Controls whether members of the group are automatically granted full rights to the Jobs, Credentials, and Connections that they create. This option is enabled by default.

When enabled, if a user whose group has limited object permissions creates a new Job, Credential, or Connection, VisualCron automatically adds an object-level permission override that grants that user's group full access (Read, Edit, Delete, List, and Execute) to the item just created. This lets users manage the objects they create without an administrator granting permission on each new object individually.

The override is only added when the group does not already have full rights for that object type. If the group already holds all of those permissions at the group level, no override is created.

This option has no effect for AD users that inherit permissions from an AD group. It is skipped entirely for any user who has "Is AD user" set and inherits (rather than clones) permissions from an AD group. It applies only to internal users and to AD users whose permissions are cloned (the "Let users inherit (not clone) permissions" option unchecked). This is why toggling the option produces no visible change in an environment where every user inherits from AD groups.

Permission

A permission can have the following attributes:

  • "Read" - Allows the object to be viewed/showed in some way. This can be a window or a list
  • "Add" - Allows the user to add and object to a list
  • "Edit" - Allows the user to edit an object in a list or window
  • "Delete" - Allows the user to delete an object from a list
  • "Execute" - Allows the user to run/execute something

Not all permissions has, for obvious reasons, all attributes available. For example, permission "Log" can only be viewable or not and has, therefore, only the "Read" setting is available for change. When a setting cannot be changed for a permission it is grayed out/disabled.

For each permission, use the select boxes to update the valid attribute types. Your changes to a user will be saved when clicking OK.

See the list of all permissions with a description in the Supported permissions topic.

Permissions

Manage Credentials

  • Read - Controls if the user can open the Manage Credentials window
  • Add - Controls if the user can Add new Credentials
  • Edit - Controls if the user can Edit existing Credentials
  • Execute - Controls if a user can Execute a Task or similar with the selected Credential
  • Delete - Controls if the user can Delete Credentials

Overriding group permissions

From VisualCron version 6.1.2. permissions can be overridden on Job level so you can set specific permission for a group on a specific Job. From version 8.4.2 you can override Credential permissions.

A permission override set on a Job applies to that Job object's own actions (Read, Edit, Delete, Execute, and List). It does not grant Task-level permissions. Adding or editing Tasks inside a Job is governed by the group's Tasks permission (Add and Edit), not by a Job-level override. To allow a group to add or edit Tasks from within the Job editor, grant that group the Tasks > Add and Tasks > Edit permissions at the group level.

Default groups

VisualCron includes two built-in groups: Administrators and Viewers.

Administrators have full access to all objects and features.

Viewers are intended for read-oriented monitoring access. The following table describes the default Viewers group permissions as of VisualCron 13.2.1:

FeatureReadAddEditDeleteExecute
Jobs
Tasks
Log
Audit Log
Task Manager
Remote File Explorer
Connections